Maryland Manual On-Line - www.mdmanual.net

DEPARTMENT OF THE ENVIRONMENT


[photo, Montgomery Park Business Center, 1800 Washington Blvd., Baltimore, Maryland] Shari T. Wilson, Secretary of the Environment (410) 537-3084

Robert M. Summers, Ph.D., Deputy Secretary (410) 537-4187
Stephen L. Pattison, Assistant Secretary (410) 537-3086
Allan P. Jensen, Director, Administrative & Employee Services Administration (410) 537-3537
George S. (Tad) Aburn, Jr., Director, Air & Radiation Management Administration (410) 537-3255
Richard A. Eskin, Ph.D., Director, Science Services Administration (410) 537-3572
Horacio A. Tablada, Director, Waste Management Administration (410) 537-3304
Virginia F. Kearney, Acting Director, Water Management Administration (410) 537-3567
M. Rosewin Sweeney, Principal Counsel (410) 537-3053

Montgomery Park Business Center, 1800 Washington Blvd., Baltimore, Maryland, February 2004. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.


Montgomery Park Business Center, 1800 Washington Blvd., Baltimore, MD 21230
(410) 537-3000; 1-800-633-6101 (toll free, Maryland); tdd: (410) 631-3009
e-mail: webmaster@mde.state.md.us
web: www.mde.state.md.us/

For environmental emergencies & complaints (24 hours):
  • 1-866-MDE-GOTO (toll free)
  • 1-866-633-4686 (toll free)

  • Agencies

    Budget

    Functions

    Historical Evolution

    Organizational Chart

    Organizational Structure

    Origin

    Reports


    ORGANIZATIONAL STRUCTURE

    OFFICE OF SECRETARY

    (U00A0101, formerly 39.01.01.01)
    FY2007 appropriation: $2,970,764; authorized positions: 17
    Shari T. Wilson, Secretary of the Environment (appointed by Governor with Senate advice & consent)
    (410) 537-3084
    e-mail: stwilson@mde.state.md.us

    ASSISTANT SECRETARY

    Stephen L. Pattison, Assistant Secretary (410) 537-3086
    e-mail: spattison@mde.state.md.us

    ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES ADMINISTRATION

    (U00A0202, formerly 39.01.02.02)
    FY2007 appropriation: $7,352,648; authorized positions: 48
    Allan P. Jensen, Director (410) 537-3116
    e-mail: ajensen@mde.state.md.us
    fax: (410) 537-3740

    Robert G. Alexander, Deputy Director (410) 537-4419
    e-mail: ralexander@mde.state.md.us

    SCIENCE SERVICES ADMINISTRATION

    (U00A0501, formerly 39.01.05.01)
    FY2007 appropriation: $13,237,687; authorized positions: 114
    Richard A. Eskin, Ph.D., Director (410) 537-3572
    e-mail: reskin@mde.state.md.us
    fax: (410) 537-3683

    Marie C. Halka, Deputy Director (410) 537-3818
    e-mail: mhalka@mde.state.md.us

    DEPUTY SECRETARY

    Robert M. Summers, Ph.D., Deputy Secretary (410) 537-4187
    e-mail:
    bsummers@mde.state.md.us

    AIR & RADIATION MANAGEMENT ADMINISTRATION

    (U00A0701, formerly 39.01.07)
    FY2007 appropriation: $11,046,465; authorized positions: 169
    George S. (Tad) Aburn, Jr., Director (410) 537-3255
    e-mail: gaburn@mde.state.md.us
    web: www.mde.state.md.us/arma/Airqulty/airqual.html

    Angelo J. Bianca, Deputy Director (410) 537-3260
    e-mail: abianca@mde.state.md.us

    WASTE MANAGEMENT ADMINISTRATION

    (U00A06, formerly 39.01.06)
    FY2007 appropriation: $26,456,359; authorized positions: 220
    Horacio A. Tablada, Director (410) 537-3304
    e-mail: htablada@mde.state.md.us
    web: www.mde.state.md.us/land/land_programs/index.asp

    Mitch McCalmon, Deputy Director (410) 537-3304
    e-mail: mmccalmon@mde.state.md.us

    WATER MANAGEMENT ADMINISTRATION

    (U00A04, formerly 39.01.04)
    FY2007 appropriation: $28,666,591; authorized positions: 300
    Virginia F. Kearney, Acting Director (410) 537-3567
    e-mail: vkearney@mde.state.md.us
    web: www.mde.state.md.us/water/water_programs/index.asp

    Jack Bowen, Acting Deputy Director (410) 537-3145
    e-mail: jbowen@mde.state.md.us

    Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
    Maryland Departments
    Maryland Independent Agencies
    Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
    Maryland Universities & Colleges
    Maryland Counties
    Maryland Municipalities
    Maryland at a Glance


    Maryland Manual On-Line

    Search the Manual
    e-mail: mdmanual@mdarchives.state.md.us

     Maryland Manual On-Line, 2007

    July 6, 2007   
    Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual


    Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!


    [ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
    ||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

    Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

    Copyright July 06, 2007 Maryland State Archives