Maryland Manual On-Line -



Elizabeth M. Hewlett, Esq., Chair (chosen by Board in Jan., 1-year term)
Christopher Zimmerman, 1st Vice-Chair (chosen by Board in Jan.)
James Graham, 2nd Vice-Chair (chosen by Board in Jan.)

Appointed by Washington Suburban Transit Commission: Peter Benjamin; Elizabeth M. Hewlett, Esq.; Gordon J. Linton (alternate); Marcell Solomon, Esq. (alternate).

Appointed by Northern Virginia Transportation Commission: T. Dana Kauffman; Christopher Zimmerman; William D. Euille (alternate); Catherine Hudgins (alternate).

Appointed by District of Columbia City Council: James Graham; Emeka C. Moneme; Marion S. Barry, Jr. (alternate); Anthony R. Giancola (alternate).

John B. Catoe, Jr., General Manager

600 Fifth St., NW, Washington, DC 20001
(202) 962-1234; tty: (202) 638-3780
(202) 637-7000 (bus & rail information)
(202) 637-1328 (consumer assistance)

The Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority was created by interstate compact of the State of Maryland, the Commonwealth of Virginia, and the District of Columbia with the consent of Congress. Maryland ratified the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Regulation Compact in 1965 (Chapter 869, Acts of 1965). The Authority was formed to plan, finance, develop, and operate a balanced regional transportation system for the national capital area. The Authority also maintains a regular police force to protect patrons, personnel, and property.

Metro. The five-line metrorail system, known as Metro (or the Washington Metro), opened in 1976 with a single line less than five miles long. In December 1993, a new four-station segment opened to Greenbelt, Maryland. The Blue Line was extended to Franconia-Springfield, Virginia, in June 1997, and the Red Line to Glenmont, Maryland, in July 1998, making Metro a 103-mile rail system of five lines (83 stations), linking Maryland, Washington, DC, and Virginia. In December 2004, the system increased to 106.3 miles with 86 stations.

Metrobus. Congress, the General Assemblies of Maryland and Virginia, and the City Council of the District of Columbia have authorized the Authority to acquire and operate all mass transit bus facilities in the Washington, DC, region. In 1973, Metro acquired four area bus systems. Metrobus now runs 335 routes on 176 lines.

MetroAccess. MetroAccess provides transportation services seven days a week within its service area to persons with disabilities who are certified eligible.

The Authority is governed by a six-member Board of Directors (and six alternate directors). Each Compact signatory appoints two members. Board members and alternates serve terms coterminous with their service as members of their appointing bodies (Code Transportation Article, secs. 10-202 through 10-204).

Interstate Agencies
Maryland Government
Maryl& the Federal Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2007

July 6, 2007   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 06, 2007 Maryland State Archives