Maryland Manual On-Line -



David K. Paylor, Virginia, Chair (chosen by Commission in June, 1-year term)

Christopher Recchia, Executive Director

Hall of the States, Suite 638, 444 North Capitol St., NW, Washington DC 20001
(202) 508-3840; fax: (202) 508-3841

[photo, Montgomery Park Business Center, 1800 Washington Blvd., Baltimore, Maryland] Maryland members appointed by Governor: Shari T. Wilson, Secretary of the Environment; George S. (Tad) Aburn, Jr., Director, Air & Radiation Management Administration, Dept.of the Environment.

Contact: George S. (Tad) Aburn, Jr.

c/o Air & Radiation Management Administration
Department of the Environment
Montgomery Park Business Center, 1800 Washington Blvd., Baltimore, MD 21230
(410) 537-3255

Montgomery Park Business Center, 1800 Washington Blvd., Baltimore, Maryland, February 2004. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

In 1991, the Ozone Transport Commission was created in accordance with the federal Clean Air Act amendments of 1990 (P.L. 101-549). It was initiated to address the spread of ozone and its precursor gases in the Northeast and Mid-Atlantic regions. First known as the Northeast Ozone Transport Commission, it became the Ozone Transport Commission under by-laws adopted in 1991.

The Commission advises the Environmental Protection Agency on issues surrounding the movement over long distances of airborne pollutants caused by cars, trucks, powerplants, and factories. With the Agency, the Commission works to develop and implement regional solutions to the ground-level ozone problems affecting citizens in the Northeast and Mid-Atlantic regions. For its member states, the Commission provides air pollution assessment and technical support, and facilitates cooperation among states to develop regional pollution reduction strategies. The Commission also helps coordinate reductions in air pollution to meet federal health-based standards for air quality (contained in the National Ambient Air Quality Standard for ground-level ozone).

Government leaders and environmental officials from twelve Northeast and Mid-Atlantic states, the District of Columbia, and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency constitute the Commission. Member states include Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, and Virginia.

Interstate Agencies
Maryland Government
Maryland & the Federal Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2007

July 6, 2007   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 06, 2007 Maryland State Archives