Maryland Manual On-Line -



John V. Cogbill III, J.D., Virginia, Chair (chosen by U.S. President), 2007

Appointed by U.S. President to 6-year term: John V. Cogbill III, J.D., Virginia, 2007; Jose L. Galvez III, Maryland, 2009; Herbert F. Ames, South Carolina, 2011.

Appointed by Mayor, District of Columbia: Arrington Dixon, J.D.; Stacie Scott Turner.

Ex officio: Robert M. Gates, Ph.D., U.S. Secretary of Defense; Dirk Kempthorne, U.S. Secretary of the Interior; Lurita Alexis Doan, Administrator of General Services; Joseph I. Lieberman, Chair, Committee on Governmental Affairs, U.S. Senate; Henry A. Waxman, Chair, Committee on Oversight and Government Reform, U.S. House of Representatives; Adrian M. Fenty, Mayor, District of Columbia; Vincent C. Gray, Chair, Council of District of Columbia.

Patricia E. Gallagher, Executive Director

Market Square North Building, North Lobby, Suite 500
401 9th St. NW, Washington, DC 20004
(202) 482-7200; fax: (202) 482-7272

The National Capital Planning Commission originated in 1924 as the National Capital Park Commission. In 1926, it reformed as the National Capital Park and Planning Commission, and in 1952 assumed its present name.

The Commission provides planning guidance for federal land and buildings in the National Capital Region. The Region includes Prince George's County and Montgomery County in Maryland; Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun and Prince William counties in Virginia; and the District of Columbia.

To protect and enhance the historical, cultural and national resources of the nation's capital, the Commission sets planning policies and reviews development proposals.


Appointed by Commission Chair:
Jose L. Galvez III, Chair

The South Capitol Street Task Force organized in May 2004. The Task Force reported its findings and recommendations on the revitalization of the South Capitol Street Corridor in 2005. The Task Force last met in October 2005.

Interstate Agencies
Maryland Government
Maryland & the Federal Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2007

July 6, 2007   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 06, 2007 Maryland State Archives