Maryland Manual On-Line -


[photo, Legislative Services Building, 90 State Circle, Annapolis, Maryland] Vacancy, Chair (chosen by Governor)

Appointed by Governor: not yet appointed

Appointed by Senate President: not yet appointed

Appointed by House Speaker: not yet appointed

Staff: John F. Rixey, Jr.

c/o Office of Policy Analysis, Dept. of Legislative Services
Legislative Services Building, 90 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 946-5510, (301) 970-5510
fax: (410) 946-5529, (301) 970-5529

Legislative Services Building, Annapolis, Maryland, January 2001. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

The General Assembly Compensation Commission was authorized in 1970 by Constitutional amendment (Chapter 576, Acts of 1970, ratified November 3, 1970). The Commission determines the compensation and allowances due members of the General Assembly. The Legislature may reduce but not increase the amounts proposed. For 2007, the annual salary of a legislator is $43,500. The 2007 salary for the Senate President and the House Speaker is $56,500.

The Commission consists of nine members who serve four-year terms. Five members are appointed by the Governor; two by the Senate President; and two by the House Speaker. Officers and employees of the State or local governments are not eligible for appointment (Const., Art. III, sec. 15).

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2007

July 6, 2007   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 06, 2007 Maryland State Archives