Maryland Manual On-Line -


Scot T. Spencer, Chair (chosen by Governor), 2006

Appointed by Governor: Rosa H. Burenstine; Rev. Douglas E. Edwards; Richard W. Fairbanks; Vernice D. Miller-Travis; Clifford S. Mitchell, M.D.; Leonard A. Parrish; William P. Stack; one vacancy. Terms expire 2006.

Rev. Solomon Iyobosa Omo-Osagie II. Term expires 2009.

Appointed by Senate President: Ulysses Currie

Appointed by House Speaker: Elizabeth Bobo

Ex officio: Stephen L. Pattison, designee of Secretary of the Environment; Samarpita Das, designee of Secretary of Health & Mental Hygiene; Arabia M. Davis, designee of Secretary of Planning.

Staff: Dorothy Morrison

c/o Office of the Secretary, Dept. of the Environment
Montgomery Park Business Center, 1800 Washington Blvd., Baltimore, MD 21230
(410) 537-3897

Annual Report to Governor & General Assembly due Oct. 1 (Chapter 460, Acts of 2003).

In March 2001, the Governor created the Commission on Environmental Justice and Sustainable Communities (Executive Order 01.01.2001.01). Effective October 1, 2003, the Commission was established by statute (Chapter 460, Acts of 2003).

The Commission advises State agencies on issues related to environmental justice and sustainable communities. With the Children's Environmental Health and Protection Advisory Council, it coordinates recommendations on such issues. The Commission analyzes and reviews what impact current State laws, regulations, and policy have on the equitable treatment and protection of communities threatened by development or environmental pollution, and determines what areas in the State need immediate attention. The Commission assesses the adequacy of current statutes to ensure environmental justice, and develops criteria to pinpoint which communities need sustaining.

The Commission consists of fifteen members. Ten are appointed by the Governor; one by the Senate President; and one by the House Speaker. Three members serve ex officio (Code Environment Article, sec. 1-701).

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2007

July 6, 2007   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 06, 2007 Maryland State Archives