Maryland Manual On-Line -


Vacancy, Chair (chosen by Governor)

Appointed by Governor to 3-year terms: Terry T. Brown, 2005; Arlene F. Lee, 2005; Dawn J. James, 2007; Christina M. Trenton, 2007; three vacancies.

Appointed by Governor upon nomination by Chief Judge, Court of Appeals: George M. Lipman; Robert C. Nalley.

Appointed by Senate President: Nathaniel J. McFadden

Appointed by House Speaker: one vacancy

Ex officio: T. Eloise Foster, Secretary of Budget & Management; Nancy S. Grasmick, Ph.D., State Superintendent of Schools; John M. Colmers, Secretary of Health & Mental Hygiene; Brenda Donald, Secretary of Human Resources; Donald W. DeVore, Secretary of Juvenile Services; Gary D. Maynard, Secretary of Public Safety & Correctional Services; Kristen M. Mahoney, Executive Director, Governor's Office of Crime Control & Prevention.

Nonvoting members: Peter F. Luongo, Ph.D., Director, Alcohol & Drug Abuse Administration, and Brian M. Hepburn, M.D., Executive Director, Mental Hygiene Administration, Dept. of Health & Mental Hygiene; Judith S. Sachwald, Director, Division of Parole & Probation, and Richard B. Rosenblatt, Esq., Assistant Secretary for Treatment Services, Dept. of Public Safety & Correctional Services.

Suzan Swanton, Executive Director

c/o Drug & Alcohol Abuse Administration, Dept. of Health & Mental Hygiene
Dix Building, Spring Grove Hospital Center, 55 Wade Ave., Catonsville, MD 21228
(410) 402-8636
fax: (410) 402-8604

Annual Report to Governor.

In July 2004, the Maryland State Drug and Alcohol Abuse Council was authorized by the Governor (Executive Order 01.01.2004.42). To ensure that available resources are used most effectively, the Council will develop a comprehensive plan for drug and alcohol abuse prevention, intervention, and treatment. The Council will collaborate with and advise local drug and alcohol abuse councils, and coordinate with the Governor's Grants Office to identify all available funding sources.

In September 2005, the Council submitted its two-year Plan to the Governor that establishes priorities and strategies to deliver and fund drug and alcohol abuse prevention, intervention, and treatment services.

Of the Council's nineteen voting members, nine are appointed by the Governor, one each by the Senate President and House Speaker, and eight serve ex officio.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2007

July 6, 2007   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 06, 2007 Maryland State Archives