Maryland Manual On-Line -


Robert M. Summers, Ph.D., Acting Chair (chosen by Governor)

Appointed by Governor: Kevin E. Dayhoff, 2005; William B. Icenhower, M.D., 2005; Thomas H. Stoner, 2006; William P. Ball, Ph.D., 2007; Gregory B. Murray, 2007; Leland D. Spencer, M.D., 2007; David B. Bancroft, 2009; Karen Harris Oertel, 2009; Veronica L. Chenowith, 2010; James L. Hearn, 2010; one vacancy.

Appointed by Senate President: one vacancy

Appointed by House Speaker: Barbara A. Frush

Ex officio: Douglas D. Scott, designee of Secretary of Agriculture; T. Eloise Foster, Secretary of Budget & Management; Jag Khuman, designee of Secretary of the Environment; John R. Griffin, Secretary of Natural Resources; Richard E. Hall, Secretary of Planning.

Staff: Rajiv Chawla

c/o Water Management Administration, Department of the Environment
Montgomery Park Business Center, 1800 Washington Blvd., Baltimore, MD 21230
(410) 537-3770; 1-800-633-6101 (toll free, Maryland)
tdd: (410) 631-3009

Annual Report to Governor & General Assembly due Jan. 1 (Chapter 428, Acts of 2004).

The Chesapeake and Atlantic Coastal Bay Restoration Fund was established in 2004 to provide funding for various environmental expenses in the State, including the costs of sewage disposal systems, Bay restoration fees, and upgraded technology at wastewater facilities. Created in September 2004, the Bay Restoration Fund Adivsory Committee identifies additional revenue sources for the Chesapeake and Atlantic Coastal Bays Restoration Fund (Chapter 428, Acts of 2004). The Committee recommends ways to improve the effectiveness of the Fund in reducing nutrient loadings to the waters of the State.

In consultation with each county's governing body, the Committee is to identify users of onsite sewage disposal systems and holding tanks. Also, in consultation with the governing body of each county, the Committee is to recommend to each county the best method of collecting the Bay restoration fee from users of onsite sewage disposal systems and holding tanks that do not receive water bills.

To meet the financing needs of the Fund, the Committee is to recommend an appropriate restoration fee to be assessed in Fiscal Year 2008 and subsequent years, if necessary. In addition, the Committee analyzes the cost of nutrient removal from wastewater facilities; advises the Department of the Environment on components of an education, outreach and upgrade program; and advises the Secretary of the Environment on the adoption of regulations.

The Commmittee consists of seventeen members. Ten are appointed by the Governor to four-year terms. One is a member of the Senate, appointed by the Senate President, and one is a member of the House of Delegates, appointed by the House Speaker. Five serve ex officio (Code Environment Article, secs. 9-1601, 9-1604, 9-1611, 9-1616, 9-1617).

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2007

July 6, 2007   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 06, 2007 Maryland State Archives