Maryland Manual On-Line - www.mdmanual.net

COMPTROLLER OF MARYLAND


[photo, Goldstein Treasury Building, 80 Calvert St., Annapolis, Maryland] Peter V. R. Franchot, Comptroller of Maryland
Len N. Foxwell, Deputy Comptroller (410) 260-7734
Linda L. Tanton, Deputy Comptroller (410) 260-7806
Jerome W. Klasmeier, Assistant Comptroller (410) 260-7308
David S. Weaver, Chief of Staff (410) 260-7795
Gerald I. Langbaum, Counsel (410) 260-7808

Goldstein Treasury Building, Annapolis, Maryland, November 2002. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.


P. O. Box 466, Goldstein Treasury Building, 80 Calvert St., Annapolis, MD 21404 - 0466
(410) 260-7801; fax: (410) 974-3808
e-mail: pfranchot@comp.state.md.us
Maryland relay service: 1-800-735-2258
tty: (410) 260-7157, (410) 767-1967, or (301) 949-6032
web: www.marylandtaxes.com

301 West Preston St., Baltimore, MD 21201
(410) 767-4890; fax: (410) 333-5383


Agencies

Budget

Historical Evolution

Organizational Chart

Organizational Structure

Origin & Functions

Reports


  • forms: (410) 260-7951
  • income tax assistance: 1-800-MD TAXES (toll free)
  • income tax information: (410) 260-7980

  • ORGANIZATIONAL STRUCTURE

    COMPTROLLER OF MARYLAND

    (E00A0101, formerly 24.01.01)
    FY2007 appropriation: $3,893,605; authorized positions: 69
    Peter V. R. Franchot, Comptroller of Maryland (elected by voters), 2010
    (410) 260-7801
    e-mail: pfranchot@comp.state.md.us

    Len N. Foxwell, Deputy Comptroller (410) 260-7734
    e-mail: lfoxwell@comp.state.md.us

    BOARD OF REVENUE ESTIMATES

    Ex officio: Peter V. R. Franchot, Comptroller of Maryland; Nancy K. Kopp, State Treasurer; T. Eloise Foster, Secretary of Budget & Management.

    Executive Secretary: David F. Roose, Director, Bureau of Revenue Estimates (410) 260-7450
    e-mail: bre@comp.state.md.us

    ADMINISTRATION

    David S. Weaver, Chief of Staff (410) 260-7795
    e-mail: dweaver@comp.state.md.us

    OPERATIONS

    Linda L. Tanton, Deputy Comptroller (410) 260-7806
    e-mail: ltanton@comp.state.md.us

    ADMINISTRATION & FINANCE DIVISION

    (E00A0102, formerly 24.01.01.02)
    FY2007 appropriation: $2,068,832
    Kenneth H. Smith, Director (410) 260-7807
    e-mail: ksmith@comp.state.md.us

    CENTRAL PAYROLL BUREAU

    (E00A0901, formerly 24.01.09)
    FY2007 appropriation: $3,681,882; authorized positions: 34.1
    Robert J. Murphy, Director (410) 260-7406
    e-mail: rmurphy@comp.state.md.us
    web: http://compnet.comp.state.md.us/cpb/default.asp

    COMPLIANCE DIVISION

    (E00A0501, formerly 24.01.05)
    FY2007 appropriation: $27,866,300; authorized positions: 346.6
    James T. Loftus, Director (410) 767-1556
    e-mail: jloftus@comp.state.md.us
    web: http://compnet.comp.state.md.us/compliance

    Richard M. Glacken, Deputy Director (410) 767-1556
    e-mail: rglacken@comp.state.md.us

    FIELD ENFORCEMENT DIVISION

    (E00A0701, formerly 24.01.07)
    FY2007 appropriation: $8,481,833; authorized positions: 88
    John R. Horney, Director (410) 260-7490
    e-mail: jhorney@comp.state.md.us

    Vacancy, Deputy Director (410) 260-7490

    GENERAL ACCOUNTING DIVISION

    (E00A0201, formerly 24.01.02)
    FY2007 appropriation: $6,807,326; authorized positions: 46
    John D. Kenney, Director (410) 260-7820
    e-mail: gad@comp.state.md.us

    INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY DIVISION

    (E00A1001, formerly 24.01.10)
    FY2007 appropriation (reimbursable): $21,663,406; authorized positions: 146.5
    John T. Salmon, Director (410) 260-7634
    e-mail: jsalmon@comp.state.md.us

    Lavinia Lee, Deputy Director (410) 260-7635
    e-mail: vlee@comp.state.md.us

    MOTOR-FUEL, ALCOHOL & TOBACCO TAX REGULATORY DIVISION

    Thaddeus S. Russell, Director (410) 260-7536
    e-mail: trussell@comp.state.md.us

    REVENUE ADMINISTRATION DIVISION

    (E00A0401, formerly 24.01.04)
    FY2007 appropriation: $34,103,865; authorized positions: 374.8
    James M. Arnie, Director (410) 260-7445
    e-mail: jarnie@comp.state.md.us

    Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
    Maryland Departments
    Maryland Independent Agencies
    Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, Advisory Boards
    Maryland Universities & Colleges
    Maryland Counties
    Maryland Municipalities
    Maryland at a Glance


    Maryland Manual On-Line

    Search the Manual
    e-mail: mdmanual@mdarchives.state.md.us

     Maryland Manual On-Line, 2007

    July 6, 2007   
    Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual


    Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!


    [ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
    ||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

    Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

    Copyright July 06, 2007 Maryland State Archives